There is a county board of elections in each county of the State. Each local board and its staff is subject to the direction and authority of the State Board for its actions in all matters regarding the implementation of the requirements of the Election Code and any application federal law. Except in Prince George's County, each local board consists of three regular members and two substitute members. Two regular members and one substitute member must be members of the majority party, and one regular member and one substitute member shall be a member of the principal minority party. In Prince George's County, the Board consists of five regular members and three substitute members. Four regular members and two substitute members must be members of the majority party. The members of all the boards are appointed by the Governor and serve four year terms.


To vote in Maryland you must be registered. You may complete a Voter Registration Application in person at a county Board of Elections or the State Board of Elections. You may also register to vote by mail.