Charles Co. Public Schools News Briefs

Board, Superintendent to meet with local delegation

The Board of Education will meet tomorrow, Friday, Dec. 13, 9 a.m. at the Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building with members of the Southern Maryland delegation to discuss the upcoming legislative session.

Board of Education reschedules monthly meeting

The Board of Education has rescheduled its monthly meeting to 4-7 p.m., Tuesday, Dec. 17, at the Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building. The meeting will begin with executive session at 4 p.m. The public portion of the meeting begins at 4:45 p.m. and public forum is scheduled at 6 p.m.

The Board canceled its regular monthly meeting Dec. 10 due to inclement weather. A revised agenda will be posted on BoardDocs beginning Dec. 11. A link to BoardDocs, which contains meeting information, reports and Board policies, can be found on the Charles County Public Schools website at under Quick Links.

The meeting is televised live on Comcast Channel 96 and Verizon FiOS Channel 12, and is rebroadcast throughout the week. Board meetings are also streamed live on the school system website Select CCPS TV and then choose the Live Broadcast tab. The following is an updated meeting agenda:

La Plata’s It’s Academic team wins at county competition

La Plata High School’s It’s Academic team earned the top spot in the annual Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) competition held Dec. 4 at Thomas Stone High School.

The La Plata three-member team of Matthew Kamin (team captain), Colin McNulty and Sarah Bard won in the championship round against Thomas Stone and Maurice J. McDonough high schools to earn first place. Thomas Stone earned second place in the championship round, followed by McDonough in third place.

Each year, the first-place team goes on to compete in a regional match. This year’s match is against Magruder and Stonewall high schools and airs April 5 on NBC4. The second-place winner at the county level earns a chance to also compete in a regional match to air in early fall.

The Greater Waldorf Jaycees presented La Plata with a $500 scholarship for their firstplace win. William Coggins, Thomas “T.C.” Martin, Bethany Riege, Matthew Fan, William Bermudez, Alec Hunsaker, Justin Cortez, Carleigh Hoy, Bryan Dang, Chris Kuhn and Alexandra Saunders are also members of the La Plata team. Team coach is Amanda Ferncez, a science teacher at La Plata.

As second place winners, Thomas Stone received a $250 scholarship from the Jaycees. Students competing in the event were the three-member team of Captain Robert Jeffrey, Mia Chase and Kaitlyn Crook. Alternates were Mary Krucelyak and Matthew Trusnovic. Rachel Pritchett Lee Powell, Michael Demarco, Alex Trimble and Lizzie Pritchett are also members of the team. Team coaches are Nancy Jeffrey, a German teacher, and Sara Thompson, an English teacher.

For their participation in the competition, all other high schools received a $250 scholarship from the Jaycees. The other high school three-member teams were: Henry E. Lackey High School – Captain Terryll Montgomery, Nate Dudley and Kevin Chen; McDonough – Captain Adrianne Turner, Franklin Olmstead and Nicholas Schouten; North Point High School – Captain Joel Rogers, Ashlynn Stanley and Dennis Whitley; Westlake High School – Captain Athina Ketchum, Michael Rowley and Susan Duncan.

Caleb Bickerstaff is the Lackey team alternate. Christian Warren, Tuba Tanveer, Kaela Proctor, Aaron Lebeau, Jack Wiegand, Alan Fusina, Maxim Bode, Mailin Quinto, Trayson Thomas, Darius Short, Zakaria Lee Abderrahim, Jeremiah Blakeman and Jeremy Carey are also members of the Lackey team. Team coach is Don Browder, a social studies teacher at Lackey.

Jesse Zeitler is the McDonough team alternate. Pateley Bongiorni, Angela Cruz, Jeanne Dela Cruz, Bridget Cunningham, Faith Hawkins, Sydney Hicks, Marissa Jefferson and Christina Paras are also members of the McDonough team. Team coach is Courtney Abell, an English teacher at McDonough.

Completing the North Point team are Kehle Hatch, Luke Gibson, Skye Corbin, Aric Gaskill, James Adkins and Wesley Jefferies. Team coach is Maureen Stewart, a Spanish teacher at North Point.

Completing the Westlake team are Christina Hightower, Damien Dugan, Marsha Forson, Ben Nordmann, Jonathan Land, Oluwademil Daniel-Akanle and Errol Chatman. Team coach is James Ressler, an English teacher at Westlake and is assisted by Matthew Howard, a Westlake social studies teacher.

Featured Sponsor

The Reluctant Navigator at Tall Timbers Marina
The restaurant offers a unique atmosphere and a fine dining experience.

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Ridgell Excavating and Services, LLC
No job is too small! Contact us for a FREE estimate.

Need Legal Representation?

Five So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News