CSM Names Three to Foundation Board

LA PLATA, Md.—The College of Southern Maryland Foundation has announced the addition of Mark R. Floyd, Micheline Lopez-Estrada and Austin Joseph Slater Jr. to the CSM Foundation board of directors.

Floyd currently serves as a contracting officer for the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency, whose mission it is to deliver geographic intelligence in assistance to the United States military, where he coordinates acquisitions and contract management.

"As a Foundation director I see my mission as one of helping others to help themselves," said Floyd. "By helping to raise funds for student scholarships, we are helping students pursue rewarding careers that will, in turn, help our community as a whole."

Floyd attended the Community College of the Air Force and Wayland Baptist University and earned a bachelor's degree in business and information systems management. He earned a master's degree in human resource management from Central Michigan University, and also holds master's certificates in leadership and federal procurement management.

Floyd retired after 27 years as a U.S. Air Force senior non-commissioned officer. As senior contracting officer to the White House Military Office he specialized in construction, architectural-engineering design, environmental surveys and acquisitions. In addition, Floyd worked as a senior staff member and contracts negotiator for Lockheed Martin Corporation, where he served as consultant and external spokesperson for the corporation.

Floyd is a recipient of the Bronze Star Medal, Defense Meritorious Service Medal and the Presidential Service Badge. He is currently a warranted federal contracting officer, as well as a negotiator and contract price analyst.

Lopez-Estrada is the vice president of the ERP Solutions Division for ECS Federal, Inc.

"I am very excited about the opportunity to serve on the CSM Foundation board," said Lopez-Estrada. "I believe education is instrumental to attain the full potential of each person's life, as it plays a key role in the development of our values and qualities. Scholarships allowed me to receive a quality education, empowering me to make better decisions and opening doors which provided me with better opportunities. As such, raising funds for scholarship opportunities will be one of my focal points during my tenure on the CSM Foundation."

As the vice president of ERP Solutions, Lopez-Estrada provides leadership in managing the strategic and annual operating plan of the division. As a managing consultant, she provides technical management support for clients. Lopez-Estrada's career includes 13 years of government service at the Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR) and more than 22 years of systems engineering experience.

Lopez-Estrada earned bachelor's degrees in computer science from the Interamerican University of Puerto Rico and computer engineering from the University of Puerto Rico. She earned master's degrees in business administration from Florida Institute of Technology and in technical management from The Johns Hopkins University.

Lopez-Estrada was a board member of the St. Mary's Hospital Foundation and Leadership Southern Maryland. She is a native of Puerto Rico and has been a resident of Southern Maryland for more than 22 years.

"Educational institutions like CSM play a key role in the community by developing the proper environment for nurturing students and providing educational opportunities, and CSM is a key contributing factor for sustaining economic growth in our Tri-County area. It is my belief that education should be available and accessible to every individual regardless of their financial situation, social background, gender or race," said Lopez-Estrada.

Slater is the president and chief executive officer of Southern Maryland Electric Co-op (SMECO), one of the largest co-ops in the nation with $500 million in assets and approximately 150,000 members. SMECO has 500 employees and a 15-member board.

"Having long been a supporter of the CSM Foundation's vital mission of assisting deserving students, it is now a great pleasure and honor to serve on the board," said Slater. "I am impressed and inspired by the energy and excitement of the Foundation staff, vision of the board, and dedication of the entire team."

Slater has extensive leadership experience in the electric cooperative industry. Previously vice president with the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, he was also CEO of Tideland Electric Membership Corporation in North Carolina.

Slater holds an MBA in finance from The George Washington University, a bachelor's degree from Shepherd College in accounting and an associate's degree from CSM.

Slater served CSM's Board of Trustees from 2008 to 2013, serving as chair this past year and as vice chair for two years. He is the immediate past president of the Maryland Chamber of Commerce and was inducted into its Business Hall of Fame this May. He currently serves on the boards of Community Bank of Tri-County and the Southern Maryland Workforce Investment Board. He is the founding secretary of the National Renewables Cooperative Organization. Slater is also active in many civic and community organizations. He previously served as a board member of the Consumer Federation of America, National Cooperative Business Association and the Cooperative Development Foundation.

The CSM Foundation is the fundraising arm of CSM since 1970. The foundation serves the Southern Maryland community and students by providing educational opportunities and services.

Foundation board officers are chair Reuben F. "Jay" Lilly, first vice chairs G. S. (Steve) Proctor Jr. and Christine M. Rush, trustee representative Theodore L. Harwood, secretary-treasurer CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried. CSM Vice President of Advancement Michelle L. Goodwin is the executive director of the foundation.

Foundation members representing Calvert County include Eric Bailey, Wesley Donovan, E. Rané Franklin and Carmen L. Nance Gambrill. Members representing Charles County include Michelle Aughinbaugh, past chair Gregory C. Cockerham, Paul V. Facchina Jr., Ruth Ann Ferrell, Mark R. Floyd, David Hruda, Lilly, Paula L. Martino, Robert V. Price Jr., Proctor, Rush and Austin Joseph Slater Jr. Members representing St. Mary's County include Harwood, Capt. Glen Ives (Ret.), Alland Leandre, Micheline Lopez-Estrada, Elfreda Mathis, Vickie Kite Milburn and Jennifer Wamsley.

For information on the foundation, visit http://www.csmd.edu/Foundation/.

Source: CSM

Featured Sponsor

St. Mary's Nursing Center
Long-term care and rehabilitation facility located in beautiful St. Mary's Co. in Southern Maryland.

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Charles County Technology Council
CCTC is a cooperative alliance dedicated to the advancement of people, technology, and ideas, in Charles County.

Need Legal Representation?

Five So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News