Two School Zones Added to Automated Speed Enforcement Program in Chas. - Southern Maryland Headline News

Two School Zones Added to Automated Speed Enforcement Program in Chas.

Chas. Co. Sheriff badge logo
LA PLATA, Md. (Sept. 13, 2016)—The Charles County Sheriff's Office Automated Speed Enforcement Unit will be adding two new school zones to the automated speed enforcement program in October. The new locations are T.C. Martin Elementary School, 6315 Oliver Shop Road in Bryantown, and St. Charles High School, 5305 Piney Church Road in Waldorf.

The CCSO currently has a total of four mobile cameras that are moved every two weeks to approved school zones including:

• Thomas Stone High School, 3785 Leonardtown Road, Waldorf

• Westlake High School, 3300 Middletown Road, Waldorf

• Maurice J. McDonough High School, 7165 Marshall Corner Road, Pomfret

• General Smallwood Middle School, 4990 Indian Head Highway, Indian Head

• William E. Wade Elementary School, 2300 Smallwood Drive West, Waldorf

• Berry Elementary School, 10155 Berry Road, Waldorf

• Dr. James Craik Elementary School, 7725 Marshall Corner Road, Pomfret

• Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School, 2820 Jenifer School Lane, Waldorf

• Malcolm Elementary School, 14760 Poplar Hill Road, Waldorf

• Grace Christian Academy, 13000 Zekiah Drive, Waldorf

As a courtesy, the locations of the cameras are posted weekly on the sheriff's office Facebook page. Also:

• Cameras are activated Monday through Friday, all year long, from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. with the exception of Wade Elementary School which operates from 7 a.m. until 6 p.m.

• Citations are issued to the registered owner of the vehicle and only if the speed was 12 mph or more over the posted speed limit.

• A school zone speed camera violation is a $40 fine with no points.

Sponsored Content

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Miller Cabinet Makers
We manufacture all wood custom cabinets and countertops to meet our clients needs.

Follow SoMd HL News