St. Mary's Co. Gov. News Briefs - Southern Maryland Headline News

St. Mary's Co. Gov. News Briefs

St. Mary's Co. Government logo
July Airport Advisory Committee Meeting Rescheduled to August

The Airport Advisory Committee meeting, regularly scheduled for Monday, July 25, has been rescheduled to Monday, August 22. The change was made following a motion by the members and approved at the March 28 meeting.

Questions regarding the Airport Advisory Committee should be addressed to the Department of Public Works and Transportation at 301-863-8400.

County Seniors Accepting Walk a Million Miles Challenge

The St. Mary's County Department of Aging and Human Services reports The Walk a Million Miles program is off to a great start. To date 36 local participating seniors walked a total of 2,815 miles in the month of June.

Three of the seniors are over the age of 80 and still going strong. This month's prize winner is Jean Wilson, who walked 189.63 miles during the month of June.

Walk a Million Miles is a state-wide initiative of the Governor's Office and intended to get Maryland's citizens up and moving. The Department of Aging & Human Services is pleased to participate in this worthwhile initiative.

Lace up your shoes and get walking! Registered participants receive a free pedometer while supplies last. Participants track their miles walked using a log sheet, which is available at the reception desks at each of the Senior Activity Centers. Participants who return their logs to a Senior Activity Center by the fifth day of the following month will be entered to win prizes.

The Walk a Million Miles program ends October 5.

Want to get involved? Call 301-475-4200, ext. *1050 to register.

Appointments to Boards, Commissions and Committees

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County announced appointments to the following boards, committees and commissions at their weekly business meeting on June 28. Appointments are effective July 1. Terms expire as indicated:

Agriculture Seafood & Forestry Board

• Michael Sirk 06/30/21

• Joseph Wood 06/30/21

Agriculture Seafood & Forestry Board

• Scott Bacon 12/31/20

• John Parlett 12/31/19

• Charles Webb 12/31/19

Agriculture Preservation Advisory Board

• Phil Langley 12/31/20

• Patrick Russell 06/30/19

• David Paulk 12/31/19

• John Shenski 12/31/18

• Stephen Reeves 12/31/20

Agriculture Reconciliation Committee

• Colleen Corrigan 12/31/19

• Phil Dorsey 12/31/18

• David Paulk 12/31/19

• John Shenski 12/31/18

• Michael Sirk 06/30/21

Adult Public Guardianship Review Board

• Sherry Pierce (Unlimited)

Compensation Review Board

• Valerie Brosky 12/01/16

• Bernadette Shannon 12/01/16

• Joseph Russell 12/01/16

Economic Development Commission

• Phil Dorsey (reappointment) 06/30/19

• Tom Watts (reappointment) 06/30/19

Elms Advisory Committee

• Charles Cameron 06/30/21

Ethics Commission

• Joseph Russell 06/30/19

• Jean-Marie Hansen (Alternate member) 06/30/19

Hazard Mitigation Plan Committee

• Gerald Gardiner, Jr. (Public Safety) (Unlimited)

• Robert Kelly (County Government) (Unlimited)

• Vince Whittles (Local Business) (Unlimited)

• Tony Wheatley (Town Of Leonardtown) (Unlimited)

• William Hunt (LUGM) (Unlimited)

• George Erichsen (DPW&T) (Unlimited)

• Michael Wyant (Public Schools) (Unlimited)

• Michael Sullivan (MetCom) (Unlimited)

• Mark Stancliff (Technology) (Unlimited)

Metropolitan Commission

• John Carey 06/30/19

• Alice Gaskin (reappointment) 06/30/19

Sheriff's Office Retirement Plan Board

• Dr. Tracy Harris (reappointment) 06/30/19

Social Services Board

• Wanda Brown (reappointment) 06/30/19

• Richard Buckler (reappointment) 06/30/19

Tri-County Animal Shelter

• Sally Browne 06/30/20

Commissioners Appoint Members to Boards, Commissions and Committees

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County have announced appointments to the following boards, committees and commissions. The appointments were approved at their last business meeting on June 22 and are effective July 1. Terms to expire as indicated:

Airport Advisory Committee

• Bryan Barthelme, Jr. (Reappointment) 06/30/19

• Robert Pearce 06/30/19

Commission for Women

• Jennifer Brown (Partial Term) 06/30/18

• Malinda Hughey (Partial Term) 06/30/18

• Melissa Farren (Reappointment) 06/30/19

• Norma Pipkin (Reappointment) 06/30/19

• Erin Walker (Reappointment) 06/30/19

Commission on Aging

• Veda Willis (Partial Term) 12/31/17

• Susanne Wise-Campbell (Partial Term) 06/30/18

• Margaret Forrest 06/30/19

Commission on the Environment

• George Thompson (Reappointment) 06/30/20

Family Violence Coordinating Counsel

• Kevin Hill (Unlimited Term)

Transportation Advisory Committee

• Scott Anderson 06/30/19

• Nick Moats 06/30/19

• Brian Schroeder 06/30/19

Sponsored Content

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Brinsfield Funeral Home, P.A.
The Golden Rule Funeral Home, serving all of Southern Maryland.

Follow SoMd HL News