State Honors Chas. Co. Schools for Academic Achievement, Improvement - Southern Maryland Headline News

State Honors Chas. Co. Schools for Academic Achievement, Improvement

LA PLATA, Md. (March 16, 2012)—Nine Charles County public schools earned recognition in the 2011 Maryland School Performance Recognition Program, which honors schools for academic and subgroup achievement on the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) or the High School Assessment (HSA).

Four schools were honored for overall academic achievement. They are Dr. James Craik Elementary School, Milton M. Somers and Piccowaxen middle schools, and La Plata High School. Somers and Piccowaxen, as well as La Plata, were also honored for subgroup achievement.

Five schools were honored for subgroup achievement. They are Dr. Thomas L. Higdon, Malcolm, Mary H. Matula and Walter J. Mitchell elementary schools, and Westlake High School.

The program, facilitated by the Maryland State Department of Education, honors schools for performance on the 2011 MSA or the HSA, and for improving the performance of special populations of students. Only schools that made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) for the 2010-11 school year were eligible for recognition.

Subgroups are special populations that include race/ethnicity, special education, limited English proficiency, and students receiving free- or reduced-price meals. The program was established by the Maryland General Assembly in 1996, and is now required by the federal No Child Left Behind Act.

“The School Performance Recognition Program allows us to highlight the work and efforts of our staff and students to reach higher goals each year. The standards set by No Child Left Behind are difficult, and our students continue to improve each year,” Superintendent James E. Richmond said.

Source: Charles County Public Schools

Sponsored Content

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Virtually Everything, Inc.
The company which proudly brings you So. Md. Online!

Follow SoMd HL News