Charles Co. Students Named AP Scholars - Southern Maryland Headline News

Charles Co. Students Named AP Scholars

LA PLATA, Md. (September 26, 2011)—The College Board recently named 226 Charles County Public Schools students as Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college level Advanced Placement Program exams.

The College Board's Advanced Placement Program offers high school students the opportunity to take challenging college level courses to receive college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP exams. About 17 percent of more than one million high school students in more than 15,000 secondary schools worldwide who took AP exams performed at a sufficiently high level to merit the recognition of AP Scholar.

Students took AP exams in May 2011 after completing challenging college-level courses at their high schools. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on student performance on AP exams.

Seven students qualified for the National AP Scholar award. They are Erin Hood, La Plata High School; Katherine Huber, La Plata; Matthew Koontz, La Plata; Colin Qualters, La Plata; Shaun Gardiner, McDonough High School; Erin Chapman, North Point High School; and Nicholas Teleky, North Point. National AP Scholars receive an average grade of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Thirty-nine students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. They are:

-- Jessica E. Davis, Henry E. Lackey High School;
-- Michael Hobgood, Lackey;
-- Chad Myers, Lackey;
-- Jessica Andreas, La Plata;
-- Nathan Bonnin, La Plata;
-- Michael Bradford, La Plata;
-- Steven Burroughs, La Plata;
-- Max Flerlage, La Plata;
-- Elizabeth Hair, La Plata;
-- Erin Hood, La Plata;
-- Katherine Huber, La Plata;
-- John Jarboe, La Plata;
-- Matthew Koontz, La Plata;
-- Colin Qualters, La Plata;
-- Casey Rollins, La Plata;
-- Alexander Smith, La Plata;
-- Shelby Smith, La Plata;
-- Benjamin Szoch, La Plata;
-- Anna Albrittain, McDonough;
-- Melissa Bortner, McDonough;
-- Shaun Gardiner, McDonough;
-- Kristen McCahill, McDonough;
-- Elizabeth Wilson, McDonough;
-- Bryn Allston, North Point;
-- Molly Bauman, North Point;
-- Erin Chapman, North Point;
-- Cayley Dymond, North Point;
-- Chiebuka Ezekwenna, North Point;
-- Ian Farris, North Point;
-- Natalie Griffin, North Point;
-- Ashli Haggard, North Point;
-- Christopher Hartline, North Point;
-- Kayci Kirkham, North Point;
-- Andrew Maki, North Point;
-- Kristina Milman, North Point;
-- Audrey Springer, North Point;
-- Nicholas Teleky, North Point;
-- Linette Floyd, Thomas Stone High School; and
-- Alexia McGowan, Westlake High School.

Twenty-nine students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. They are:

-- Andrew Bode, Lackey;
-- Joshua Boyd, Lackey;
-- Deborah Cline, Lackey;
-- Gustin Paras, Lackey;
-- Paul Warren, Lackey;
-- Daniel Ahern, La Plata;
-- Chad Collins, La Plata;
-- Matthew Gill, La Plata;
-- Jessica Gough, La Plata;
-- Bhaskar Joshi, La Plata;
-- Raleigh Joyner, La Plata;
-- Sarah Miles, La Plata;
-- Kane Wade, La Plata;
-- Amir Ali, McDonough;
-- Zachary Hogberg, McDonough;
-- Brianne Holter, McDonough;
-- Kevin Shin, McDonough;
-- Seung Choe, North Point;
-- Justin Dejausserand, North Point;
-- Christopher Dupree, North Point;
-- Tiffany Hergett, North Point;
-- Conor Maginnis, North Point;
-- Connor Roberts, North Point;
-- Emily Shultz, North Point;
-- William Still, North Point;
-- Tobechukwu Ezekwenna, Stone;
-- Daryl Hale, Stone;
-- Alexys Lewis, Stone; and
-- Misha Stone, Westlake.

Additionally, 158 students qualified for the AP Scholar award by completing three or more AP exams with grades of 3 or higher.

From Lackey they are: Jeffrey Cusick, Stephanie Hayes, Chynna Keys, Emily Macri, John Murphy, Daniel Nelson and Michael Smith.

From La Plata they are: Chloe Baert, Alexandria Bendebba, Ryan Birney, Justin Blake, Emily Brockmann, April Brown, Bradleigh Chance, Christopher Cheney, Alexander Chung, Philip Cieplak, Dylan Dull, David Edelen, Cheryl Frazier, Casey Gaskins, Jessie Glass, Benjamin Golding, Kristin Gunning, Alyssa Hamill, Dylan Higgins, Rexford Holmes, William Hughes, Eric Kyle, Emma Larsen, Sarah Anne Mayo, Mary Mills, Molly Monaghan, Laura Montgomery, Joshua Morgan, Michael Morris, Catherine Mucciolo, Jennifer Munozchacon, Matthew Paesch, Aaron Pekarek, Kaitlyn Peltzer, Kelly Perna, Kristen Pette, Marc Potter, Candace Radcliff, Melissa Reen, Hayley Ressler, Lauren Richardson, Zachary Roddy, John Sackman, Dylan Santos, Hadeel Shadid, Erica Spurlin, Jonathan Teeney, Lindsay Thompson, Richard Watkins and Taylor Wilson.

From McDonough they are: Michael Browning, Dale Cook, Nicholas Dephillip, Mark Haft, Megan Keesee, Caitlin Packard, Emily Sorenson, Catherine Turner, Jessica Youmans and Evelyn Young.

From North Point they are: Jaelin Ali, Devon Atkinson, Michael Balakit, Victoria Barber, Kaylah Bovard, Aaron Bull, Rochielle Canare, Timothy Castano, Julio Castellon, Jarel Chisholm, Ryan Cleaveland, Yadira Coleman, Sean Danek, Justin Denton, Malick Diarra, David Dickshinski, Ian Egland, Ricky Garcia, Megan Gerrity, Shannon Gravette, Keyawna Griffith, Jessica Hamilton, Kirsten Hankins, Brittney Hicks, Lauren Jackson, Aaron Kauffman, Alexa Mamakos, Alauna Martinez, Kendall McMillen, Shyrice Mitchell, Tovi Nguyen, Irene Nolan, Gavin Norris, Angela Norton, Benjamin Oppenheim, Jennifer Patterson, Brendan Pond, Kelsey Rawson, Carrington Reeves, Kelsey Renner, David Roberts, Moriah Rochlinski, Kevin Rudaski, Inamarie Sanabria, Kiera Shepherd, Andrea Sherlock, Chelsey Taylor, Wairimu Thande, John Thomas, Alexander Tyo, Bianca Varela, Kyle Velez, Melissa Wagner, Kendra Wallace, Benjamin Walsh, Driana Watson, Thomas Watts, Marc Westhead and Jazmyn White.

From Stone they are: Jorge Alamo Guzman, Emmanuel Bakare, Makala Brent, Jemm Excelle Dela Cruz, Jennifer DeMarco, Tieresa Diggs, Casey Flerlage, Emmett Fowler IV, Kali Gregan, Kathryne Hedrick, Olivia Hefter, Nicholas Jamison, Leah Kadjeski, Emily Le, Alaric Powell, Kayla Robben, Katrina Savoy, Aisha Sehbaoui, Dion Taylor, Kelley Waidley, Sean Ward and Jessica Wiley.

From Westlake they are: Shante Ashley, Felicia Dillard, Danielle Hightower, Emilian Hilario, Asia Lamar, Victoria Munoz, Leena Neeb, Summer Sandoval, Chase Wagner and Leah Warren.

Most of the nations' colleges and universities award credit, advanced placement, or both based on successful performance on the AP exams. Thirty-seven AP courses and exams are offered in a wide variety of subject areas, each consisting of multiple-choice and free-response (essay or problem-solving) questions except for the Studio Art Exam, which evaluates students' original artwork.

The College Board is a nonprofit membership association dedicated to preparing, inspiring and connecting students to colleges and opportunity. The association is composed of more than 5,200 schools, colleges, universities and other educational organizations. Each year, the College Board serves seven million students and their parents, 23,000 high schools, and 3,500 colleges through major programs and services in college admissions, guidance, assessment, financial aid, enrollment and teaching and learning.

Source: Charles County Public Schools

Sponsored Content

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Visit St. Mary's Co., Maryland
See What's Fun, What's Featured in St. Mary's

Follow SoMd HL News