Chas. Co. Student Board Member Selected for 2011-12 School Year

LA PLATA, Md. (June 13, 2011)—Taylor Brooks, a senior at Westlake High School, is the student member of the Board of Education of Charles County for the 2011-12 school year. She will be sworn in to her position by Board of Education Chairman Roberta S. Wise at the June 14 meeting, which begins at 1 p.m.

As the Student Board Member, Brooks will work with a student liaison committee throughout the school year. The following students were selected as members of the student liaison committee:

-- Taylor Wade, Henry E. Lackey High School, rising junior;

-- Victoria Garcia, La Plata High School, rising junior;

-- Raven Murphy, Maurice J. McDonough High School, rising senior;

-- Jessica Kirkham, North Point High School, rising junior;

-- Linette Floyd, Thomas Stone High School, rising senior; and

-- Leah Warren, Westlake High School, rising senior.

Each year, an alternate student board member is also selected from among the liaisons and will be selected at a later date. Each high school is required to have a student liaison and may be selected by methods approved by the school’s Student Government Association (SGA) and principal. Each liaison can apply as a candidate for the position of Student Board Member. Each candidate submits an essay regarding a student concern and a detailed possible solution.

The essays are evaluated and candidates are interviewed by a selected committee comprised of students and advisors. The liaison with the highest combined score on the essay and the interview is named the Student Board Member.

Additionally, student members of the Charles County Association of Student Councils (CCASC) recently elected new officers for the 2011-12 school year.

The new CCASC officers are:

-- Azeezat Adeleke, president, rising junior, North Point;

-- Kimberly Bailey, first vice president, rising senior, Stone;

-- Ciara Albrittain, second vice president, rising freshman, La Plata;

-- Chelsea Cox-Brown, secretary, rising freshman, Stone; and

-- Alton Benson, middle school representative, rising seventh grader, Milton M. Somers Middle School.

Each year, CCASC officers are elected by student delegates in April. Schools develop their own methods for selecting CCASC student delegates. Each high school sends 15 delegates to monthly CCASC meetings; each middle school sends 10 delegates.

The CCASC is an organization consisting of student leaders from the county’s six high schools and eight middle schools. These students meet throughout the year to discuss issues and concerns, as well as provide input to school system leaders on programs and policies.

Featured Sponsor

Vintage Values Thrift Stores
Shop Vintage Values and find terrific bargains, all while helping a good cause!

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

The King's Christian Academy
Academic Excellence in a Safe, Christian Environment. Located in Callaway, close to PAX NAS.

Need Legal Representation?

Three So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News