Winners of PRA Environmental Writing Contest Announced

ST. MARY’S CITY, Md. (April 13, 2011) — The Winner of the 2010 Jansson Prize for Environmental Writing is Steve Carr, of Annapolis. Carr and second prize winner Robert Willie, of California, will be recognized at an awards ceremony during Earth Day celebrations in Leonardtown April 17.

The contest is sponsored by the Potomac River Association (PRA) and the Center for the Study of Democracy (CSD) at St. Mary’s College of Maryland.

This was the first year the PRA gave an essay award for environmental writing. The prize is named for Holger and Mary Jansson and their son, Eric, lifelong advocates of the environmental and cultural heritage of Southern Maryland.

Next year’s contest has been expanded to include Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles, Prince George's and St. Mary's counties. Writers must compose an essay that outlines their strategy for restoring the health of the Chesapeake Bay.

Featured Sponsor

Pepper's Pet Pantry
Gifts for Pets and the People That Love Them. Located in Solomons Towne Centre.

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

The MIL Corporation
Find your new career today!

Need Legal Representation?

Three So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News