DNR to Hold Oyster County Committee Elections

ANNAPOLIS (May 28, 2010) — The Maryland Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has announced the dates and locations for the election of county oyster committee representatives.

Watermen who hold a commercial tidal fishing license (TFL) or Oyster Harvester License in every tidewater county may vote for five licensed hand tongers, five licensed power dredgers, five licensed patent tongers and five divers to represent them on their respective county committees.

Watermen who have purchased a 2009-2010 oyster surcharge and reported harvested may be eligible to be nominated for a committee.

To submit a name for the ballot, a potential candidate must notify DNR no later than June 7, 2010 by calling Frank Marenghi at (410) 260-8302 to verify eligibility.

The following elections will be held by secret written ballot cast in person:

Baltimore & Anne Arundel Counties
6 – 9 p.m., June 14, 2010, Tawes Building, C-1 Conference Room, Annapolis

Calvert, St. Mary’s, & Charles Counties
6 – 9 p.m., June 15, 2010, Southern Community Center, Lusby

Kent & Queen Anne Counties
6 – 9 p.m., June 16, 2010, Queen Anne’s County Library, Centreville

Talbot County
6 – 9 p.m., June 21, 2010, Talbot County, Parks and Rec. Building, Chesapeake Room, Easton

Somerset, Wicomico, & Worchester Counties
5:30 – 8:30 p.m., June 22, 2010, Wicomico County Free Library, Salisbury

Dorchester County
June 24, 6 – 9 p.m., Dorchester County Library, Cambridge.

Featured Sponsor

Hickory Hills East Townhomes
A "Lifestyle Community" that you will want to call home. Located in Great Mills.

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Brinsfield-Echols Funeral Home, P.A.
The Golden Rule Funeral Home, serving all of Southern Maryland.

Need Legal Representation?

Five So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News