Five SMECO Board Seats Open; Nominating Committee Appointed

SMECO Customer-Members Can Petition to be Nominated

HUGHESVILLE, Md. (March 29, 2010)—Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative's (SMECO's) Board of Directors has appointed 10 members to the 2010 Nominating Committee scheduled to meet on Saturday, May 8, at the Co-op's Hughesville Executive Building. This committee will select a slate of candidates for the five available Board seats up for election at SMECO's 2010 Annual Members' Meeting. The following Board seats will be up for election: one in Calvert County, two in Charles County, one in Prince George's County, and one in St. Mary's County.

The 2010 Nominating Committee members follow:

-- Calvert County: Terence N. Gibson, Prince Frederick; and Alyce Schwallenberg, Huntingtown.

-- Charles County: Winston W. Burroughs, Sr., Waldorf; Joseph L. Gardiner, Jr., La Plata; and William B. Young, Jr., Waldorf.

-- Prince George's County: Manning Clagett, Accokeek; and Ernest H. Riess, Brandywine.

-- St. Mary's County: Edith M. Bell, Chaptico; George A. Brown, Loveville; and Catherine Brenda Coates, Lexington Park.

SMECO customer-members interested in being nominated should complete a Board of Directors Candidate Application. Completed candidate applications should be submitted or mailed to SMECO, Attention: Joseph Densford, Board Attorney, 15045 Burnt Store Road, P.O. Box 1937, Hughesville, Maryland 20637 by Monday, May 3, 2010. To obtain a candidate application, contact Patty Tennyson at 301-274-4489 or

In addition to nominations made by the committee, any 15 or more SMECO members acting together may make other nominations by petition by Friday, July 2, 2010. Members running by petition should also complete and submit a Board of Directors Candidate Application. Nominations will be posted in each SMECO office and mailed to each member with the Annual Meeting notice.

SMECO's Annual Meeting will be held Wednesday, September 1, 2010. SMECO had 1,270 members registered for last year's meeting. This year, absentee mail-in voting will also be available to those customer-members who are unable to attend the meeting. Details will be published in the Co-op's monthly newsletter.

Selection of the Nominating Committee members is in compliance with SMECO's bylaws. For more information regarding the committee, nominations, and qualifications of directors, refer to Article IV, Sections 4.02 and 4.03, of SMECO's bylaws. Bylaws may be obtained from any SMECO office.

Source: SMECO

Featured Sponsor

Jay Hansen, independent AMSOIL dealer.

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor
Quality parts for your commercial laundry & drycleaning equipment at great prices!

Need Legal Representation?

Five So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News