Beavan Named Air Force Association Teacher of Year

LEXINGTON PARK, Md. (April 15, 2009) - Ms. Bonnie Beavan, a Spring Ridge Middle School mathematics teacher, was recently named Teacher of the Year by the Thomas W. Anthony Chapter of the Maryland State Air Force Association (AFA).

This award is presented annually as part of the national Air Force Association Aerospace Teacher of the Year Award program and is designed to recognize classroom teachers for their accomplishments and achievements in exciting K-12 students about science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). Winners at the Chapter and State level receive several awards including checks for $250 and $500, respectively. In addition, the State Teacher of the Year gets to compete nationally for a $3,000 award presented at the annual AFA Air and Space Conference in Washington, DC, and serve for one year as an AFA spokesman for the entire teaching profession.

Ms. Beavan joins Julie Matthews Harp of Easton Middle School who was named the Baltimore Chapter Teacher of the Year, and Christopher Orlando of Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School who was named the Central Maryland Chapter and Maryland State Teacher of the Year.

"We are proud to recognize these fine teachers, and know that they represent hundreds of outstanding teaching professionals in Maryland", said Robert Roit, President of the Maryland Air Force Association.

Featured Sponsor

Waldorf Ford and Dodge
Serving the Southern Maryland and Washington, D.C. areas.

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Burch Oil Company
Serving the changing needs of Southern Maryland since 1928.

Follow SoMd HL News