State Recognizes Charles County Schools for MSA Achievement - Southern Maryland Headline News

State Recognizes Charles County Schools for MSA Achievement

LA PLATA, Md. (March 24, 2009)—Fifteen Charles County public schools were recognized by the Maryland State Department of Education in the Maryland School Performance Recognition Program, which honors schools for achievement and improvement on the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) or the High School Assessment (HSA).

Dr. James Craik and William B. Wade elementary schools, and North Point High School were honored for overall achievement. William A. Diggs, T.C. Martin, Walter J. Mitchell, Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy, J.C. Parks, J.P. Ryon and Eva Turner elementary schools, Milton M. Somers Middle School, and Henry E. Lackey, Maurice J. McDonough, Thomas Stone and Westlake high schools were recognized for subgroup improvement.

Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy, Ryon and Turner were also presented with a Title I award of $5,533.93. All other schools received a certificate of recognition. Only Title I schools are given financial awards.

The School Performance Recognition Program recognizes elementary, middle and high schools annually for achievement and subgroup improvement based on the MSA and HSA. The program provides an incentive for schools to continue to make academic improvement and gives schools public recognition.

The criteria include the performance of minority groups and specific student populations, including special education students, limited English proficient students and economically disadvantaged students.

Sponsored Content

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

St. Mary's County Times
Online, on newsstands, and in paper boxes, throughout St. Mary's County every Thursday.

Follow SoMd HL News