O'Malley 'Green Bag' Appointments Include 6 So. Marylanders - Southern Maryland Headline News

O'Malley 'Green Bag' Appointments Include 6 So. Marylanders

ANNAPOLIS (Feb. 23, 2009) - Governor Martin O’Malley on Friday submitted a list of 167 “green bag” nominations for appointment and reappointment to the Maryland Senate for State boards and commissions. Six of the nominees are residents of So. Maryland.

The list includes nominees for the Maryland Economic Development Commission, the Maryland State Board of Education, the Board of Trustees of Residential Boarding Education Programs (SEED School), the University System of Maryland Board of Regents, Community College Board of Trustees (in various counties), and the Critical Areas Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, among other regulatory and advisory boards.

The term “green bag” derives from the historical green satchel that is used once every year to bring the gubernatorial nominations to the Senate. When not in use, the bag is stored at the Maryland State Archives. It is state tradition that a senior member of the governor’s staff delivers the “green bag” to the Senate.

Among the 167 nominees, the following hail from southern Maryland:

-- Guffrie M. Smith, Jr., Calvert County, is being nominated as a member of the Maryland State Board of Education. He has been active in the Calvert County Public School System since 1964, and has continuously served the State of Maryland’s education system and his community. He began his career in education as teacher, eventually becoming Principal of Appeal Elementary School in Calvert County. Since that time, he has served as Calvert County Public School’s Director of Elementary Education, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, and Director of Community Education Resource Center at Mill Creek Middle School. He received a BS in Elementary Education from Bowie State College, as well as a Masters of Education in Elementary Administration /Supervision.

-- Gregory V. Billups, Charles County, nominated for the Maryland Aviation Commission.

-- John E. Fleig, Jr.. Calvert County, nominated for the Maryland Health Care Commission.

-- William L. Rice, Sr., Charles County, and Robert H. Bowes, St. Mary's County, were the only two nominees for the Potomac River Fisheries Commission.

-- J. Nicholas D'Ambrosia, of Charles County, nominated for the Real Estate Commission.

-- Linda Palchinsky, St. Mary's County, nominated for the St. Mary's County Alcohol Beverage Board.

Sponsored Content

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Booz Allen Hamilton
Simply a great place to work! Chosen as one of Washingtonian Magazine's 50 "Great Places to To Work."

Follow SoMd HL News