St. Mary's Public Schools Recognized for Energy Conservation

LEONARDTOWN, Md. (Nov. 18, 2009)—On November 4, 2009, 22 St. Mary's County Public Schools were recognized for their efforts in energy conservation with the presentation of the Second Annual Energy Conservation Recognition Awards. Schools received awards for reducing their electrical consumption in fiscal year 2009, compared to their electrical consumption in fiscal year 2008. Since each school has a different energy footprint, they are compared to themselves to calculate savings. Each qualifying school received $100 for each percentage saved, up to five percent or $500. These funds are to be used to support the Green School Program efforts at their school.

Lettie Marshall Dent Elementary received $100 for saving 1 percent in electric consumption. Schools receiving a $200 award for saving 2 percent are Park Hall Elementary and Leonardtown High. Schools receiving a $300 award for saving 3 percent are Town Creek Elementary and Oakville Elementary. Schools receiving $400 for saving 4 percent are Great Mills High and Chopticon High. Schools that saved 5 percent or more and received $500 are Esperanza Middle, White Marsh Elementary, Ridge Elementary, Piney Point Elementary, Lexington Park Elementary, Margaret Brent Middle, Spring Ridge Middle, Leonardtown Middle, Dr. James A. Forrest Career and Technology Center, Benjamin Banneker Elementary, George Washington Carver Elementary, Dynard Elementary, Greenview Knolls Elementary, Hollywood Elementary, and Green Holly Elementary.

Source: St. Mary's County Public Schools

Featured Sponsor

Christie & Associates DDS, PA
Committed to helping you and your child develop dental health habits that will maintain oral health for a lifetime.

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Jay Hansen, independent AMSOIL dealer.

Need Legal Representation?

Three So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News