Charles County Students Named AP Scholars

LA PLATA, Md. (Sept. 22, 2009)—The College Board recently named 227 Charles County Public Schools students as Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college level Advanced Placement Program exams.

The College Board's Advanced Placement Program offers high school students the opportunity to take challenging college level courses to receive college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP exams. About 17 percent of more than one million high school students in more than 15,000 secondary schools worldwide who took AP exams performed at a sufficiently high level to merit the recognition of AP Scholar.

Students took AP exams in May 2009 after completing challenging college-level courses at their high schools. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on student performance on AP exams.

Ten students qualified for the National AP Scholar award. They are Marie Farley, La Plata High School; Alexander Golding, La Plata; Gavin Reen, La Plata; Hope Reilly, La Plata; Victoria Weiss, La Plata; Allison Floyd, Thomas Stone High School; Simon Jerome, Stone; Mary Fletcher, Westlake High School; Amy Rappole, Westlake; and Kimberly Wiman, Westlake. National AP Scholars receive an average grade of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Forty students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. They are:

-- Zachary Alford, La Plata;
-- Wesley Cheney, La Plata;
-- Sophia Dent, La Plata;
-- Marie Farley, La Plata;
-- Ryan Floberg, La Plata;
-- Robert Garcia, La Plata;
-- Alexander Golding, La Plata;
-- Lara Lee, La Plata;
-- Andrew Marien, La Plata;
-- Henry Mayle, La Plata;
-- Rachel Posey, La Plata;
-- Gavin Reen, La Plata;
-- Hope Reilly, La Plata;
-- Gabriele Ricciardi, La Plata;
-- Madeline Shaffer, La Plata;
-- Amberly Shisler, La Plata;
-- Victoria Weiss, La Plata;
-- Tyler Fini, La Plata;
-- Lauren Albrittain, Maurice J. McDonough High School;
-- Drew Altman, North Point High School;
-- Derek Carey, North Point;
-- Travis Finkenauer, North Point;
-- Ryan Friedrich, North Point;
-- Kevin Herold, North Point;
-- Andelle Kudzal, North Point;
-- Malcolm Lawanson, North Point;
-- Matthew Michela, North Point;
-- Eric Reitz, North Point;
-- Zachary Schrammel, North Point;
-- Dylan Cahn, Stone;
-- Courtney Flerlage, Stone;
-- Allison Floyd, Stone;
-- Simon Jerome, Stone;
-- Morgan Thomas, Stone;
-- Emily Trefry, Stone;
-- Megan Ward, Stone;
-- Mary Fletcher, Westlake;
-- Tiphanie Gammon, Westlake;
-- Amy Rappole, Westlake; and
-- Kimberly Wiman, Westlake.

Twenty-four students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. They are:

-- Amanda Felkamp, La Plata;
-- Richard Huber, La Plata;
-- Michelle Lee, La Plata;
-- Christie Offenbacher, La Plata;
-- Emma Albrittain, La Plata;
-- Chelsea Conger, La Plata;
-- Rosemary Garcia, La Plata;
-- Brent Murphy, La Plata;
-- Daniel Pichola, La Plata;
-- Holly Reilly, La Plata;
-- Caroline Richards, La Plata;
-- Nicolas Delacruz, McDonough;
-- Timothy Dixon, McDonough;
-- Joseph Frenette, McDonough;
-- Kyle Grusholt, McDonough;
-- Sylvie Delahunt, North Point;
-- Matthew Nenno, North Point;
-- To-Lam Nguyen, North Point;
-- Courtney Pence, North Point;
-- Julian Scrivens, North Point;
-- Christopher Willis, North Point;
-- Robert Willis, North Point;
-- Nicole Grim, Stone; and
-- Biola Ijadare, Stone.

Additionally, 157 students qualified for the AP Scholar award by completing three or more AP exams with grades of 3 or higher.

From Lackey they are: Shannon Boswell, Cameron Cox, Zoe Dulin, Emily Forstner, Catherine Henry, Marquis Lewis, Joshua Miller, Dylan Paquette, Ashley Sparks and Jacob Vahle.

From La Plata they are: Ashley Adams, Corinne Arnold, Kenneth Aukerman, Kristyn Bird, Amber Boarman, Douglas Burroughs, Katherine Byrd, Jay Callow, Emily Cartner, Rachel Clark, Andrew Clements, Megan Crozier, Nicholas Dilodovico, Keshawn Franklin, Christopher Gill, Kaitlyn Hackett, Katleyn Hasz, Jaylen Jones, Joseph Joyner, Garrett Kline, Kathyrn Kline, Nathan Larsen, Jeanette Lebarron, Kendra Mabie, Jonathan Matteson, Jonathan Mattingly, Douglas McMaster, Jake Medina, Brent Mowry, Klara Muehlfeld, Luke Mushak, Patrick O'Clair, Gerardo Ochoa, Courtney Potter, Kristin Qualters, Lauren Rabon, Lindsey Rindy, Paula Riner, Victoria Ritter, Emily Rollins, Amanda Romero, Ashley Runyon, Jessica Schenck, Robert Shymansky, Susanna Smith, Haley Spalding, Emma Starkey, Justin Stine, Guergana Stoytcheva, Charles Sturman, Alexander Teeney, Bradley Tipper, Jenna Waugh, Kayla Weimert, Anna Wells, Tara Wood and Michael Zick,

From McDonough they are: Kyle Austin, Diane Berringer, David Bowling, Jillian Curry, Tammy DePhillip, Trisha Kohansby, Dylan Meushaw, Melanie Mitchell, Jhaleh Rabie, Meghan Rudolfi, Nikki Sanford, William Sapp, Samuel Smoot, Jordan Stephenson, Lisa Tice and Stacy Tiscione.

From North Point they are: Rafee Al-Mansur, Melanie Balakit, Matthew Banky, Kenjeray Bennett, Katherine Bomkamp, Evelyn Brooke, Kanika Bynum, Anthony Cangelosi, Mariah Cheaves, Megan Cooke, Kenrick Dacumos, Joshua Darichuk, Robert DiMauro, Marcel Dion, Michael Divino, Rustin Dudley, Jade Dyson, Karen Eaton, Emily Forinash, Patrick Gaume, Thomas Gelzer, Matthew Gianino, Jessica Gordon, Joshua Hatfield, Thomas Hill, Thomas Keim, Cory Kiider, Amber Lee, Conor Lee, Courtney Lennartz, Kyle Martin, Carsen McBride, Nikia Miller, Clementina Olusoga, Michelle Onuorah, Kelsey Pearson, Megan Pejsa, William Pickett, Allison Reitz, Michelle Rickert, Jenna Roussillon, Roxanne Sanderson, Matthew Smith, Karla Stevens, Shayne Suban, William Tomlinson, Ashley Veasy, Hugh Watson, William Weeks and Michelle Young.

From Stone they are: Nailah Baukman, Justin Burch, Lyanne Centeno, Cameron Clark, Joshua Cushenette, Rachel Eddy, Charles Kahahawai, Adam McClendon, Patrick McNulty, Kaitlyn Prairie, Abigail Thomas, Chanice Thompson and Matthew Turner.

From Westlake they are: John Buntz, Krystle Canare, Amanda Cave, Nicole Givens, Christian Horsey, Ronnie Ibrahim, Kelcey Landgraf, Amy McGinnis, Michelle Robertson and Rachel Zaccarelli.

Most of the nations' colleges and universities award credit, advanced placement, or both based on successful performance on the AP exams. Thirty-seven AP courses and exams are offered in a wide variety of subject areas, each consisting of multiple-choice and free-response (essay or problem-solving) questions except for the Studio Art Exam, which evaluates students' original artwork.

The College Board is a nonprofit membership association dedicated to preparing, inspiring and connecting students to colleges and opportunity. The association is composed of more than 5,200 schools, colleges, universities and other educational organizations. Each year, the College Board serves seven million students and their parents, 23,000 high schools, and 3,500 colleges through major programs and services in college admissions, guidance, assessment, financial aid, enrollment and teaching and learning.

The Charles County public school system

Featured Sponsor

Tantaztic Tanning Center
FIVE levels of tanning. Located in the Wildewood Shopping Center.

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Jetmore Insurance Group
Meeting all your insurance needs for Life, Home, Health, Auto, Boat and Business

Need Legal Representation?

Three So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News