Charles County Scholarship Fund Awards 40 Grants - Southern Maryland Headline News

Charles County Scholarship Fund Awards 40 Grants

LA PLATA, Md. (June 2, 2009)—The Charles County Scholarship Fund, Inc. recently presented more than 40 scholarships to graduates from the Charles County Public Schools Class of 2009. Each scholarship has specific eligibility and students must apply for each individually.

The following students received awards:

-- Jonathan Keeler, North Point High School, Richard J. Abela Scholarship, $5,000;

-- Eugene Tumblin, Jr., Maurice J. McDonough High School, Apartments of St. Charles Scholarship, $1000;

-- Kristen Lamb and Stephanie Lamb, Henry E. Lackey High School, and Michael Rhoades, Thomas Stone High School, St. Charles Community Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Cheyenne Adams-Brown, Stone, and Kodie Hayes, North Point, Jeremiah and Elijah Borgnis Memorial Scholarship, $500;

-- Mariah Rowe, McDonough, Unnae Pak-Borgnis Memorial Scholarship, $500;

-- Kara Bradford and Jillian Sloan, Stone, Charles County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship, $1000;

-- Evelyn Brooke, North Point, Charles County Health Department and School Nurses' Scholarship, $250;

-- Mariah Rowe, McDonough; Tiffany Rouse, Westlake High School; Michael Zick, La Plata High School; Cheyenne Adams-Brown, Stone; Codi Talbott, Lackey; and Abby Vandegrift, North Point; Charles County Retired School Personnel Association Scholarship, $500;

-- Lauren Hinson, Stone, Charles County Teacher Education Assistance Grant Scholarship, $1,000 (renewable);

-- Kelsey Pearson, North Point, Woman's Club of Southern Maryland Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Nikki Sanford, McDonough, John H. Cox Memorial Scholarship, $500;

-- Codi Talbott, Lackey, Kate Donahue Memorial Scholarship, $400;

-- Abby Vandegrift, North Point, Lisa Michele Duckett Achievement Award Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Megan Pejsa, North Point, William and Vivian King Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Lauren Wathen, La Plata, Kiwanis Club of La Plata Scholarship, $500;

-- Maya Davis, Lackey, Thomas Kurtz Memorial Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Stephanie Johnson, Stone, Harold Allen Levy Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Gavin Reen, La Plata, Mary Matula Scholarship, $300;

-- Andrea Duckett, North Point, Timothy Minor Criminal Justice Scholarship, $500;

-- Nikki Sanford, McDonough, Timothy Minor Memorial Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Thomas Gelzer, North Point, and Andrew Zippi, McDonough, Stephen E. Mitchell Educational Scholarship, $500;

-- Evelyn Brooke, North Point, Thomas B.R. Mudd Nurse Scholarship, full two years;

-- Terrez Cooks, North Point, Thomas B.R. Mudd Teacher Scholarship, full two years;

-- Geralyn Adams and Joanna Francisco, Lackey, Mildred O'Callaghan Memorial Scholarship, $500;

-- Preston Luckett, North Point, Nicole Pitonyak Memorial Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Ashley Neal, McDonough, Katherine Racey Memorial Scholarship, $1,500;

-- Joseph Schindel, North Point, Edward Rorer Memorial Scholarship, $500;

-- Kelsey Pearson, North Point, Starkey Memorial Scholarship, $500;

-- Geralyn Adams, Lackey, Robert Dean Stethem National Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Chineme Ezekwenna, Stone, Robert Dean Stethem - Thomas Stone Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Mariah Rowe, McDonough, Michael S. Tayman Memorial Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Ashley Mason, McDonough, Michael S. Tayman Memorial Scholarship, $2,000;

-- Taylor Hile, McDonough, Michael S. Tayman Memorial Nursing Scholarship, $1,000;

-- Allison Floyd, Stone, Patricia Sugg Weiers Memorial Scholarhip, $250; and

-- Kelsey Gill, La Plata, and Jordan Stephenson, McDonough, Zonta of Charles County Scholarship, $1,000.

Sponsored Content

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Southern Maryland Higher Education Center
SMHEC also offers facilities for your special events or corporate meetings!

Follow SoMd HL News