SMECO Board Candidates Nominated

Customers Can Make Nominations by Petition Until June 27

HUGHESVILLE, Md. (June 6, 2008)—The 2008 Nominating Committee for Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO) met on May 17 and chose candidates for the five available seats up for election on SMECO's Board of Directors. In addition to nominations made by the nominating committee, any 15 or more members acting together may make other nominations by petition by Friday, June 27, 2008.

The list of nominations follows:

Calvert County
Nancy W. Zinn

Charles County
John H. Bloom

Prince George's County
Daniel W. Dyer

St. Mary's County
J. Douglas Frederick
Joseph V. Stone, Jr.
Mary Ellen (Gilbert) Tancreto

SMECO customer-members will elect five directors to serve three-year terms and will vote for one Board seat in Calvert County, one seat in Charles County, one seat in Prince George's County, and two seats in St. Mary's County.

Members may vote in person at the 2008 Members' Annual Meeting on Wednesday, August 27, 2008, at SMECO's Hughesville Headquarters. Absentee mail-in ballots are also available to members who wish to vote but cannot attend the meeting. To request an absentee mail-in ballot, call 1-888-440-3311, extension 4722, or visit the Co-op's Web site at Requests for absentee ballots must be made by Friday, August 15.

Featured Sponsor
Quality parts for your commercial laundry & drycleaning equipment at great prices!

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Ridge Hardware
Your Family Owned and Operated Hardware Store!

Need Legal Representation?

Five So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News