Hoyer Receives National Law Enforcement Award

WASHINGTON (May 13, 2008) – Congressman Steny Hoyer (D-MD-5th) has been named the recipient of the 2008 Distinguished Service Award from the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund (NLEOMF). Hoyer is the 13th recipient of the award, which recognizes individuals or organizations that have made an exceptional and lasting contribution to the law enforcement profession.

“Through his service in Congress, Steny Hoyer has been a staunch ally of law enforcement and a great supporter of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund and our mission to honor the service and sacrifice of America’s law enforcement professionals,” said Craig W. Floyd, chairman and CEO of the NLEOMF. “We are especially grateful for his leadership in securing the issuance of 140,000 commemorative coins honoring our fallen heroes and his steadfast support of the National Law Enforcement Museum.”

The commemorative coin initiative raised $1.4 million for the long-term maintenance of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial, which contains the names of 18,274 officers who have died in the line of duty throughout U.S. history, including 263 from the state of Maryland.

“Our nation’s law enforcement officers are the everyday heroes on whom we rely to ensure the protection of our citizens, the safety of our neighborhoods and order in our society,” stated Congressman Hoyer. “I have been proud to serve as a champion in Congress of policies that enable our law enforcement professionals to do their jobs safely and effectively and to appropriately honor those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty. It is with great honor and appreciation that I accept this Distinguished Service Award from those that serve this nation with distinction every day.”

Hoyer joins the following past recipients of the NLEOMF’s Distinguished Service Award:

1996: U.S. Senator Claiborne Pell

1997: Jack Krol, Chairman, DuPont

1998: U.S. Representative Mario Biaggi (Ret.)

1999: John Walsh, host of “America’s Most Wanted”

2000: U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno

2001: U.S. Mint Police

2002: President George H.W. Bush

2003: Police Unity Tour

2004: U.S. Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell

2005: Motorola

2006: President Bill Clinton

2007: Cynthia Brown, publisher of “American Police Beat”

Featured Sponsor

John R. Griffiths, III - Florida Sun Real Estate, Keller William
Leave the snow behind for the warm Florida sun!

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

C & C Roll Off, Inc.
Yard residential and commercial containers for clean-up, construction and other projects.

Need Legal Representation?

Five So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News