So. Marylanders Appointed to State Trial Courts Judicial Nominating Commission

ANNAPOLIS (September 1, 2007) - Governor O'Malley announced yesterday the chairs and members of the trial courts judicial nominating commissions for the State of Maryland. The commissions assist the Governor in appointing Maryland trial court judges by recommending those applicants who are legally and most fully professionally qualified to serve as judges.

The lawyer members of the commissions reflect a diversity of legal practices and include civil, criminal, and family law practitioners. The commissions also include citizens ranging from business leaders to education professionals to community activists. All members of the commissions have demonstrated professional and personal involvement in the communities in which they live and work, says the Governor's office.

"Today, we are asking over 140 of our neighbors from throughout Maryland to come together and help me select the most qualified judiciary possible," said Governor O'Malley. "We have assembled a group of highly-competent professionals from a diversity of backgrounds who represent the face of Maryland and who will help shape the future of Maryland's judicial system."

Under the Governor's prior executive order on the judicial nominating process, the commissions will meet each time a judicial vacancy occurs in that commission's district, will research and interview judicial applicants, and will recommend to the Governor those applicants who are legally and most fully professionally qualified to serve as judges. Each commission shall also encourage qualified candidates, from a diversity of backgrounds, to apply for judicial appointment.

The trial court commissions exist for sixteen different trial court districts in Maryland. Commission District 12 serves Calvert and St. Mary's Counties. Commission District 15 serves Charles County.

The Governor's appointees will serve on the commissions along with lawyers selected by the Bar Associations from across the State. The Governor's selections and the Bar Association selections for Southern Maryland's Trial Courts Judicial Nominating Commissions are listed below.

Commission District 12 - Calvert and St. Mary's Counties

Members appointed by Governor O'Malley:

Lewis-Armitage, Sue Ann (Chair, designated by Governor) [Ms. Lewis-Armitage is an attorney with Armitage & Armitage, P.A., located in Lexington Park, Maryland. Her practice concentrates on family and personal injury law.]
Frazer, Mark R.
Gardner-Hodge, Dorothy
Lander, Alan J.
Miller, Dixie C.
O'Brien, Jane Margaret
Schejbal, Julie A.
Smith Sanders, Lisa

Bar Association selections:

Emery, D. Anne
Erly, John L.
Panos, Cynthia S.
Upton, Jackson G.

Commission District 15 - Charles County

Members appointed by Governor O'Malley:

Carrico, Rudolf A., Jr. (Chair, designated by Governor) [Mr. Carrico is a solo practitioner in La Plata, Maryland. His practice focuses primarily on family and criminal law.]
Chapman, David H.
Gibbs, Makeba
Greisman, Mary Sue
Jenkins, Louis P., Jr.
Mudd, John F.
Proctor, Elridge
Washington, Rochelle D.
Watkins, Andrea R.S.

Bar Association selections:

Gorney, James J.
Hangarter, Joseph C.
Harris, Michele R.
Matin, Hammad S.

Of the Governor's appointments to the sixteen trial court commissions, 53 % are male, 47 % are female, 24 % are African American, 6 % are Asian/Pacific Americans, 5 % are Hispanic and 1% of the appointments are other.

Featured Sponsor

Atlantic Broadband
Providing cable television and high-speed internet to homes and business in St. Mary's County.

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Home Builders, Inc.
Different by Design! Chesapeake lifestyle enhanced by upscale, private, estate communities.

Need Legal Representation?

Three So. Maryland locations to serve you. Personal Injury, Criminal Defense, DUI Defense.

Follow SoMd HL News