So. Md Welcomes 20 New Police Officers - Southern Maryland Headline News

So. Md Welcomes 20 New Police Officers

Southern Maryland’s newest police officers, who graduated Friday, May 4. Front row: John Foster, Thomas Rickard, Jr., Christina Walden, April Litteral and Kristi Nelson. Second Row: Ryan Johnson, Michael DePaulo, Kurt Burger and Megan Shreiner. Third Row: Nicole Chimko-Fahey, Jeffrey Hitaffer, Richard McCoy, Jeremy Green and Alexander Sullivan. Back Row: James Freeman, John Riffle, Michael Campbell, Michael Boyer, Paul Sady and Scott Ruest.

SOUTHERN MARYLAND - The Southern Maryland Criminal Justice Academy celebrated the graduation of 20 police recruits at a ceremony held Friday, May 4. Twenty students completed the six-month training program, which began October 30, 2006. Nine of the graduating officers joined the Charles County Sheriff’s Office, two joined the Calvert County Sheriff’s Office, one joined the La Plata Police Department, and eight joined the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office.

At the ceremony, Academy instructors presented awards to students who excelled in four categories. Tom Rickard of the Calvert County Sheriff’s Office earned the physical training award, Jeffrey Hitaffer of the La Plata Police Department earned the firearms award, Michael De Paulo of the Charles County Sheriff’s Office earned the vehicle operations award and Michael Boyer of the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office earned the academic award.

The class boasted a 94.1 final class academic average. Their class motto, chosen by the students at the beginning of the training program, was “PUSH: Pride, Unity, Strength, Honor.”

Dr. Sheldon F. Greenberg, Associate Dean at John Hopkins University, served as keynote speaker for the ceremony. Ed Schauf of the College of Southern Maryland’s legal studies department spoke about the articulation agreement between the Academy and the College, which provides each graduate with 15 college credits toward a criminal justice degree. Additionally, the Academy’s board of directors – Charles County Sheriff Rex W. Coffey, St. Mary’s County Sheriff Timothy K. Cameron and the chairman of the board, Calvert County Sheriff Mike Evans – and the class speaker, Student Officer April Litteral, each shared remarks.

The following new law enforcement officers graduated:

Charles County Sheriff’s Office:

Kurt E. Burger

Michael A. DePaulo

John D. Foster

James H. Freeman

Ryan L. Johnson

John A. Riffle

Paul D. Sady

Alexander C. Sullivan IV

Christina A. Walden

Calvert County Sheriff’s Office:

April D. Litteral

Thomas J. Rickard, Jr.

La Plata Police Department:

Jeffrey G. Hitaffer

St. Mary’s County:

Michael A. Boyer

Michael R. Campbell

Nicole C. Chimko-Fahey

Jeremy L. Green

Richard J. McCoy

Kristi M. Nelson

Scott D. Ruest

Megan E. Shreiner

Sponsored Content

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

St. Mary's County Times
Online, on newsstands, and in paper boxes, throughout St. Mary's County every Thursday.

Follow SoMd HL News