43 So. Md. Students Nominated to U.S. Military Academies for Class of 2011 - Southern Maryland Headline News

43 So. Md. Students Nominated to U.S. Military Academies for Class of 2011

WASHINGTON - Congressman Steny Hoyer (D-MD) on Friday announced the U.S. Service Academies nominations from the 5th Congressional District, which includes part of Prince George's and Anne Arundel Counties, and all of Charles, Calvert and St. Mary's Counties.

"It is my great honor this year to nominate 43 outstanding students from the Fifth Congressional District," said Congressman Hoyer. "Our nation has demanded great sacrifice from our military men and women, and it is reassuring to have so many young people who are eager to serve their country. All of these bright and talented nominees are deserving of the privilege of attending one of our fine military academies, and I wish them all the best of luck throughout the selection process."

There are five service academies in the United States which offer young men and women a free college education at highly-ranked, nationally-recognized academies, while preparing them for an officer's commission in the armed forces. The Air Force Academy, the Merchant Marine Academy, the Military Academy, and the Naval Academy all require a nomination from an authorized nominating source. The Coast Guard Academy is the only one of the armed forces service academies that offers appointments on the basis of an annual nationwide competition; there are no Congressional nominations.

In addition to teaching the leadership, discipline and communication skills necessary to be an officer in our nation's military, these academies teach skills that are invaluable in tomorrow's job market. Graduation from one of the academies helps ensure a successful future for today's young men and women, both for those who pursue a career in the military and for those who enter the job market after fulfilling their obligations. The academies provide a tremendous opportunity for a quality education, but they also mold people into leaders.

Only a handful of students nationwide are admitted to the U.S. Service Academies each year. Prospective students must meet strict academic qualifications and are interviewed and recommended by a non-partisan Academy Selection Board appointed by Congressman Hoyer.

Once the nominations are forwarded to the Service Academies, each student's eligibility is evaluated based on their academic and extra-curricular record, leadership skills, physical stamina and other requirements. Appointments for entrance are offered by the Academies as the students are evaluated. In 2006, 25 students received nominations from Congressman Hoyer and 17 were offered appointments by the Academies.

Students interested in attending one of the Service Academies can visit Congressman Hoyer's website, www.hoyer.house.gov, or can contact Ms. Betty Rogers in Congressman Hoyer's Greenbelt Office at (301) 474-0119.

Below is the full list of service academy nominations from the Fifth Congressional District.


* Michael Boidock, St. Mary's, Leonardtown HS
* Stephen Clark, Calvert, Patuxent HS
* Justin Harriot, Prince George's, Grace Brethren Christian School
* Chrles Puher, Anne Arundel, South River HS
* Bryan Seay, Calvert, Calvert HS
* Tyler Spaulding, St. Mary's, St. Mary's Ryken
* Haiig, Topjian, Anne Arundel, Severna Park HS


* Mahmood Alaverdi, St. Mary's, Leonardtown HS
* John Bellezza, Charles, St. Mary's Ryken
* Hannah Bennett, Anne Arundel, South River HS
* Stephen Clark, Calvert, Patuxent HS
* Christina Devereaux, Calvert, Patuxent HS
* Lauren Finkenauer, Charles, St. Mary's Ryken
* Ethan Harvey, Anne Arundel, South River HS and Mercerburg College
* Jeffrey Hatef, Prince George's, De Matha Catholic HS
* Matthew Hause, St. Mary's, Leonardtown HS
* Kyle Jarrett, Calvert, Huntingtown HS
* Thomas MacNeil, Anne Arundel, South River HS
* Andrew Miller, St. Mary's, Chopticon HS
* Matthew Orzechowski, Charles, La Plata HS
* Adam Palumbo, Anne Arundel, Annapolis Area Christian
* Charles Rixey, St. Mary's, St. Mary's Ryken
* Catherine Sheerin, Prince George's, St. Johns College HS
* Nicholas Sydnor, Calvert, Northern HS
* Andrew Szoch, Charles, La Plata HS
* Daniel Thrift, Prince George's, Bowie HS
* Andrew Willis, Saint Inigoes, St. Mary's Ryken


* Mahmood Alaverdi, St. Mary's, Leonardtown HS
* Taylor Cook, St. Mary's, St. Mary's Ryken
* Steven Knopf, Anne Arundel, St. Mary's HS
* Colin Leadbeter, Calvert, Northern HS
* Erich McGuffey, Prince George's, Eleanor Roosevelt
* Astrid Rivas, Prince George's, Bowie HS


* Sean Daly, Calvert, Calvert HS
* Woodruff Johnson, Anne Arundel, Severn School
* Sarah Lemler, St. Mary's, Chopticon HS
* Andrew Miller, St. Mary's, Chopticon HS
* Jose' Morales, Calvert, Huntingtown HS
* Jacqueline Mozingo, Charles, La Plata HS
* Jonathan Smythe, Calvert, Northern HS
* Zachary Stansfield, St. Mary's, Great Mills HS
* Nicholas Sydnor, Calvert, Northern HS
* Andrew Szoch, Charles, La Plata HS

Sponsored Content

Reader Comments

Featured Sponsor

Jetmore Insurance Group
Meeting all your insurance needs for Life, Home, Health, Auto, Boat and Business

Follow SoMd HL News