Photo: A model of the Blackistone Island Lighthouse on display in the museum. The actual lighthouse no longer exists.
The St. Clement's Island-Potomac River Museum was established in 1975 to interpret the history of St. Clement's Island, and present a better understanding of the prehistory and history of our area. Maintained by the St. Mary's County Government under the Department of Recreation and Parks, Museum Division, the museum today is located in its present home built in 1984. Offering our visitors an experience of the first few years of Maryland's beginnings, the museum houses hundreds of artifacts from the local area. We invite you to visit the people who made Maryland a reality; enjoy learning the history of St. Clement's Island; go back to the 1900's in our Country Store; bring a picnic lunch and enjoy the river; browse through the Gift Shop, or just sit and enjoy the many books available in our library. Walk the museum grounds and visit the Little Red Schoolhouse (Charlotte Hall School) c.1B20, which has served as an excellent educational tool for school children. Examine the farm equipment and our two Potomac River Dory Boats; the Doris "C" (c.1 919) and the Early Times (c.1 916), which have been restored for future generations to enjoy. The County has authorized purchase of a tour vessel which will be operational in Spring of 1999.
Museum hours: March 25 - September 30, weekdays 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., weekends 12 Noon to 5 p.m.; October 1 - March 24, Wednesday - Sunday 12 Noon to 4 p.m. Admission: Adults $1.00, children 12 and under are free. For more information, call: (301) 769-2222.