Piney Point Lighthouse Museum & Park
Unique in its classic tower design, the Piney Point Lighthouse, constructed in 1836, became part of the St. Mary's County Recreation and Parks Museum Division in 1990. Using a fixed beacon which was visible for over 11 miles, the lighthouse is one of only four in existence today on the Potomac River. Bring a picnic lunch and enjoy a stroll along the boardwalk viewing exhibit panels on the history of the area. The grounds of this six acre park are open 7 days a week from sunrise to sunset. The museum offers exhibits related to the history of the lighthouse; area life in the early 1900s; and a temporary exhibit pertaining to the U-105, the "Black Panther" German submarine which is Maryland's first underwater park, a mile off-shore. For more information, please call the St Clement's Island-Potomac River Museum at (301) 769-2222.